Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 2:10pm

Congratulations to Alexandra Howell and Laurel Hire for being selected to receive Office of International Education (OIE) Education Abroad Scholarships to participate in study abroad programs this summer!

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 - 11:07am

Vincent Starai was recently awarded over $1.5 million by the National Institutes of Health to investigate the mechanism by which Legionella pneumophila, the causative agent of Legionnaires’ disease, avoids host defense systems.

Friday, March 22, 2013 - 12:06pm

Researchers from the Department of Microbiology at the University of Georgia discovered important genetic clues about the history of Archaea and the origins of life in a pioneering study in which they identified genes required for survival of Methanococcus maripaludis.

Wednesday, March 13, 2013 - 3:46pm

Congratulations to Microbiology major Travis Williams on winning first prize in the undergraduate division of the poster exhibition at the Inaugural SEC Symposium: Impact of the Southeast in the World’s Renewable Energy Future!  The first-ever Southeastern Conference (SEC) symposium, which…

Friday, January 18, 2013 - 12:05pm

The broad-based training afforded by the UGA Microbiology graduate program remains in great demand, and in the last two years we have expanded considerably.  Since 2010 we have grown from forty-six to fifty-eight graduate students