Microbiology Department Graduate Student Handbook

View the Microbiology Department Graduate Student Handbook

Students can find information covering graduate program requirements, departmental information, and deadlines in the online Microbiology Department Graduate Handbook.

Graduate Student Event Calendar

Courses and Academic Schedule

A brief description of courses can be found in the Bulletin with the course prefix and call number.  

Graduate School

Other information for current students is available from the UGA Graduate School website.  Click on http://grad.uga.edu/ and follow the link for "current student" (or other appropriate link).  

Professional Development Resources


Travel Support

Please consult your advisor to ask if they have departmental funds to support your travel.

Health Insurance, Health Fees, and the Health Center


Tuition and Fees


For questions about paychecks visit the UGA payroll office website or contact the Microbiology Departmental Accountant, Andrea Barnett.

Microbiology Graduate Programs Social Media

You can find us @UGAMicroGrad on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.  If you would like an event or accomplishment posted on our social media, please contact a member of our Social Media Team.

Social Media Coordinator:  Janice Stuart mibcoord@uga.edu 

Content Contributors:

  • Sophia Weerth      sophia.weerth@uga.edu
  • YOUR NAME HERE!  Contact us if you are interested in joining our team

Advertise your news on our Social Media accounts by submitting this form.

Departmental Graduate Awards

The legacy of departmental pioneers intersects with the achievements of our current students in three named awards:  

    Funding Opportunities

    Many opportunities for fellowships, student grants, and awards can be found below.  Note that restrictions apply, and not all students will be eligible for some awards.  Students are able to apply directly for some awards but in other cases they must be nominated by their advisor, and they should discuss these opportunities with their advisor accordingly.  The fellowships available as well as their application deadlines, eligibility requirements, etc., change frequently.  Students are encouraged to view the opportunities below as examples, and to seek out other fellowships.  You can help us keep the links below up to date by contacting the graduate coordinator or the graduate program assistant with new information. 

    These links were last updated June 5, 2019:

    Awards through UGA

    Graduate School Fellowships and Scholarships

    • George Hugh Boyd Memorial Scholarship
    • Alfred E. Brown Scholarship
    • Dianne C. Davison Scholarship
    • Mary Erlanger Graduate Fellowship
    • Louis Hoffmaster and Frank Etchberger Graduate Scholarship
    • J.W. Fanning Graduate Fellowship Fund
    • Beverly Hirsh Frank Graduate Fellowship for Women in Science
    • Goizueta Foundation Graduate Scholars Fund
    • Hamilton Lokey Graduate Scholarship
    • Gwinn Henry Nixon Scholarship
    • Phibro Animal Health Graduate Fellowship
    • Orlin K. Fletcher, Jr. Scholarship
    • South Georgia Graduate Fellowship


    ARCS Foundation Fellowships (through BHSI at UGA)


    Graduate School Funding

    • Presidential Graduate Fellows Program
    • Georgia Research Education Award Traineeship (GREAT) Fellows Program
    • Georgia Impact Now Master's Fellow Program (GAIN)
    • Dissertation Completion Award
    • Graduate School Research Incentive Assistantships (RIAS)
    • Graduate School Research Assistanship Block Grants (GSRA)


    UGA Research Awards (through OVPR)

    • Robert C. Anderson Memorial Award
    • James L. Carmon Scholarship
    • Graduate Student Excellence in Research Award


    Grad School Recognition Awards

    • Excellence in Research by Graduate Students
    • Excellence in Teaching by Graduate Students
    • Outstanding Mentoring Award

    External Awards

    UGA Graduate Student Organizations

    MGSA Officers 2019-2020
    President: Jeff Dodelin
    Co-Treasurers: Nick Anglin, Greg Whitaker
    Social Chair: Aline de Oliveira
    Recruitment Chairs: Helen Dukes, Nana Shao
    Faculty Liaison: Katie Laramore



    The American Society for MicrobiologyASM_0.gif

    Students are encouraged to take advantage of the largest professional society in our field, The American Society for Microbiology (ASM), which has many professional resources and opportunities for students.

    Still Have Questions?  Ask Us!

    Microbiology Office Staff