Skip to main content
Skip to main menu



Congratulations Dr. Szymanski! Link to original article below.

Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation awards over $4.3M to top young scientists


During the week of November 14-17, 2022, doctoral students from the Department of Microbiology provided microbiology demonstrations in Kim Whitehead’s fifth grade STEM enrichment class.

Silke Andresen awarded the 2022 "William Jackson and Jane Marshall Payne Graduate Fellowship in Microbiology" during our annual Jack Payne Alumni Seminar by alumna Dr. Chelsey VanDrisse on November 3, 2022. 

Support Microbiology at UGA

The Department of Microbiology appreciates your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click to read more

Every dollar contributed to the department has a direct impact on our students and faculty.