Skip to main content
Skip to main menu



"Chlamydomonas reinhardtii as a model to study cilia-related disease"

by Dr. Karl Lechtreck, Department of Cellular Biology, University of Georgia

"Establishing Causality in Microbiota Research" 

by Dr. Volker Mai, Department of Epidemiology, University of Florida

Jennifer Kurasz of the Karls Lab is the recipient of the 2020 Dr. Juergen Wiegel Award.  The award was announced on February 25, 2021 at the Dr. Juergen Wiegel seminar. The Dr. Juergen Wiegel Graduate Award in Microbiology was established by Dr.

"What makes a good killer?  Phenotypic and genomic variation among predatory bacteria" by Dr. Laura Williams, Dept of Biology, Providence College

Microbiology PhD candidate Anastacia Parks of the Escalante Lab awarded the 2020 "William Jackson and Jane Marshall Payne Graduate Fellowship in Microbiology" during our annual Jack Payne Alumni Seminar.

Support Microbiology at UGA

The Department of Microbiology appreciates your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click to read more

Every dollar contributed to the department has a direct impact on our students and faculty.